South Florida Battery Lawyer

South Florida Battery Lawyer

Battery is defined as the touching or striking of a person against their will. It is classified as a first degree misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one year in jail. If the battery caused great harm, permanent disability or disfigurement or a deadly weapon was used, it is classified as an Aggravated Battery, a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in Florida State Prison.

Different Types of South Florida Battery Charges

To be classified as an Aggravated Battery either a deadly weapon must be used, the Battery must have caused great harm or permanent disability or disfigurement, or the Battery must have been done with the intent to commit a felony. If a gun is discharged, Battery with a Firearm carries a minimum/mandatory sentence of 20 years. If a serious injury results from a gun being discharged there is a minimum/mandatory sentence of 25 years with a maximum sentence of Life in prison.

Individuals charged with Battery have a lot at stake; in some cases the accused might even be facing Life in Prison. They should not have to, nor should they speak to the police or investigators without an attorney present. Any statement they make, regardless of how innocent they think the statement is, can and will be used against them in court by a skilled prosecutor.

Contact Attorney Jason Seidman

As a former prosecutor, Attorney Jason Seidman understands just how serious these charges are, and will use his courtroom and trial experience to defend your rights if you are charged with Battery. Call 954-740-0502 today to set up your free consultation with Attorney Jason Seidman so that he can talk to you about your charges, you concerns, and discuss your best defense options.

Get Your FREE Consultation